Plan B – The Defamation of Strickland Banks – Review

The Defamation of Strickland Banks is the second studio album that was released in 2010 by the man from London Ben Drew, more commonly known by his stage name Plan B.

This album was the follow up to the first album which he released which was titled “Who Needs Actions When You Got Words?” and also features the hit singles “She Said,” “Love Goes Down” and “Prayin’.”

There is a variation of tracks on this album. It’sa very soulful number, which is of stark contrast to the style of his debut album, which had more of a rap/hip-hop feel to it.

The first track on the album, “Love Goes Down,” for me, sets the album off perfectly. It sets the tone for what is expected on the rest of the album and my word has Plan B delivered. The album is one of very few that gets released nowadays that people can actually relate to. The upbeat tones of “She Said” and the seriousness and glum feel to the sixth track “Hard Times” are both at polar opposite ends of the scale, but the way they’ve been brought together has complimented both artist and listener enormously.

It’s fair to say you won’t be disappointed by any track on this album.

“Stay Too Long” & “Hard Times” along with the fantastic “She Said” are probably my favourite tracks of the album, but I can’t judge for you, so I strongly recommend buying this album if you don’t already have it.

Plan B also has a new EP out on iTunes called “ill Manors.” That’s the reason I wrote this review. His EP will be reviewed by me soon.

 

By Elliot Foster

Follow me: @Fozzy_MGW

